Revelation 20:12 for the walking dead of 2012

Image from tvequals.com

You may not know this, but one of my favorite Sunday night shows is AMC’s The Walking Dead. When I first watched it in 2010 I was hesitant, just a little because I was through with zombies and blood gutsy stuff. However after seeing the story line of how people must band together and tough it out while killing what’s already dead I became a fan.

Why mention The Walking Dead on here though?

Here is a chilling scripture in reference to the Walking Dead:

Revelation 20:12

And I saw the dead, small and great, stand before God; and the books were opened: and another book was opened, which is the book of life: and the dead were judged out of those things which were written in the books, according to their works.

This message is especially for Christians. There are Christians who have told me that their job is only to pray. They are afraid to reach out to others. Still, other Christians have told me, “everybody is for themself. If you want something, get it yourself.”

I am currently reading “A Knock at Midnight” edited by Calyborne Carson; it contains sermons from Martin Luther King Jr.  and King references Luke 11:5-6 which is a story about a wanderer who knocked on a door to seek food for his friend and the person shuts the door in his face.

Revelation 20:12 makes it clear: We will be judged for our works here on earth. What is the point of praying, if you are not going to follow God’s instructions for His people? We are all created by One Blood. So I don’t care if a person is Hindu, Islam, Buddhist, white, black, Indian whatever my job is to help them with their need(shelter, food, clothing) in any way that I can.

But see that brings us to the next problem: Church-ified Christians are only confident and happy giving their money to the pastor. I heard a preacher on TBN say “A person who withholds their tithes is tied to their money”

I’ll take this a step further: A person who only gives to the church, thinks that will save them. We are to be givers to more than just a building and a man wearing a suit. We think our money will liven us up and the body of Christ, but it won’t. People are not going to physical churches because the lights are out- death lives there(how ironic).

I am truly sorry, but Christians have become the walking dead. We have no praise for anyone we talk to or talk about. We can be so negative. We never pour power into each other, not even to fellow Christians! We just sit in churches and shout and sing and pay our tithes, because it’s the only “true” form of worship folks with money can give. We are becoming no good to anyone-that is death, people.

The world is trying seek that peace, that bread of life, that hope, that healing, and that friendship and we as Christians just shut our doors. How dare us! We’re no better than the ghouls that show up Sunday night on AMC. I say again how dare us!

I’ve literally had church doors shut in my face, people hang up phones on me, and even church folks telling me, “God didn’t show us helping you”

Woe unto those souls. Their material wealth has prospered but their souls stink. I am not ashamed to say this because truth trumps falsehoods any day.

As the body of Christ, let us show true life in love by starting with each other first and then branching out to the world that need us. I know some of us have not enough resources to share, but maybe we can point the lonely traveler to someone who can help? Or help with what we can?

*As a note, I am well aware that we must be discerning as to whom we help. But this is why we have the Holy Spirit. He is there to guide us all that we do in our lives. Sometimes He tugs us in areas that we are uncomfortable with, but He is just trying to wake us up. The dead branches will be cut off and the Lord want us to live and give life. Giving life does not mean giving birth, it means showing love.

God is a balanced and just Lord. He will judge us all equally on our faith AND works.

2 thoughts on “Revelation 20:12 for the walking dead of 2012”

  1. Thank GOD that I am not the only person that has had these same experiences or share the very thoughts you have written . Thank you for being you.

Leave a Reply

