Why fear people when the Lord is your light and salvation? Kick the people addiction today

adversaries,anger,angry,arguing,arguments,baseball,battles,businessmen,communications,competitions,conflicts,confrontations,controversies,debates,disagreements,discord,disputes,enemies,fighting,fights,games,leisure,males,mediation,mediators,metaphors,miscommunications,people,persons,recreation,referees,sports,umpires

For the past few months, my peace has been shaken by none other than “people”. Now, if I had the true peace of God, it would not be shaken by thoughts, actions or the words of humans, but I am human too and sometimes things get to me. I am sure some of you are going through the same thing: A family member doesn’t like the spouse you’re with, or your actions are misconstrued as something else, or people just plain misunderstand you.

There is one thing I have learned and had to learn well: We can not please all people all of the time. It is virtually impossible to do and we need to stop letting them “rent space in our minds”- only the Lord Jesus should be there and what His Father’s will is for us to do.

This takes me to Psalm 27:1, “The Lord is my light and my salvation– whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life of whom shall I be afraid?”(NIV)

I am about to show you how you can take back peace from those being used by the devil in your life. *We need deliverance from people.

  • Recognize who is your light and salvation.

When David said the Lord is his light and salvation, what did he mean? Just that. His total trust and salvation rested with God and no one else. This is why when you continue to read Psalm 27, the evil men that will try to rise up against David will stumble and fall and his heart will not be shaken.

Why?

Because the Lord is his light and salvation.

  • Recognize the stronghold in your life.

Some people are addicted to drugs, sex, food, gossip and…people. Psalm 27 can help kick any addiction if you can recognize what your strongholds are. When you know who your light and salvation is, there is no fear. When you recognize what your stronghold is, there is no fear. Why?

Because the Lord is your light and salvation, He is the stronghold in your life.

If what people say bothers you a lot, or if there is a habit you can’t shake off, then what you have done is made that addiction your light, your salvation, and your stronghold.

This is why you can’t shake off the enemy.

This is why when he tries to attack your marriage with seeds of lies and destruction you begin to falter and sweat and believe it.

This is why you feel like you have to depend on sinful things but feel as if you’re in hell everyday.

David been through a lot of circumstances and had people doubt him in his own family, however there is only one thing he sought:

“One thing I ask of the Lord, this is what I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord..”(Psalm 27:4 NIV)

In the days of trouble, God is our Rock. In the days of trouble He is our constant friend. In the days of trouble the Lord wants us to seek His face (v.8). We should seek Him all the time.

  • Be delivered from people.

Now that you have the Scripture, how can we be sure we are delivered from people?

I’m going to tell the blunt truth about my life. I am not perfect. Neither is my family. I make mistakes, sure. However, I know God’s love is perfect and this is what I must rely on. Perhaps people are still unforgiving towards you. My own family comes up with weird imaginings, speculations, and lies as to why I am the way I am and why I do what I do and they say mean things and try to plant seeds of destructions on my marriage.

Again, perhaps there is unforgiveness somewhere on all our parts, but I have to remember that the Lord is my light and salvation and my stronghold…what people say to me, about me, or around me I know it isn’t true and God knows too, but God doesn’t want me to care about those things.

He wants me to seek His face and listen to the Holy Spirit and be directed by the Holy Spirit.

Christians- we can no longer be bound by what others think of us. They have no power to place us in Heaven or Hell only God can do that. It is a free country and they can say and think how they wish, but remember Psalm 27:13-14,

“I am confident of this: I will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. Wait for the Lord; be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.” (NIV)

*This term came from a dear friend of mine, a Mother in Christ.

Leave a Reply

