Are you bound by relation or by God?

 “He [Jesus]replied to him, “Who is my mother, and who are my brothers? Pointing to his disciples, he said, “Here are my mother and brothers. For whoever does the will of my Father in heaven is my brother and sister and mother”

Was Jesus being mean to his mother and father when he denied them in front of his disciples? I don’t think so, but Jesus was trying to make a very bold and finishing statement that our attachment and all of our love should be unto God and God only. Attachments to things of this world including family leads to very unhealthy outcomes. Yes, we are called to love each other, however Jesus came to speak on spiritual matters and the fact that we are only passing through and should not love others above God.

Some of you have friends and family who you would do anything for. Even though you are saved through the blood shed of Jesus at the Cross, there is a connection you have with them. But the hold of a family member is more powerful- why? You know each other, bound by blood and time and you see them more than you see God. This is dangerous territory. I know from experience because for a time and even in recent days, I’ve had to re-evaluate what family means to me. But there is a structure to my life that I try to adhere to more than family. And I am thankful for a praying, discerning husband.

Hierarchy:

God first

Then my husband

Then me, family, whoever else…

Once you see that the Father in heaven is your one and only;  sisters, brothers, and mothers, even cousins and grans should not be able to rock your ship. But they can and they do…because they know you. Like zombies, your blood draws them to that warm core and they know which buttons to push.

Jesus was on a serious mission. Worrying over family and who was his by earthly relation mattered not. How can one do the will of God with those kinds of attachments?

Deuteronomy reminds us: Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength(6:5 NIV)

Who else are you pouring all your might into besides God?

Leave a Reply

