From The Rising of the Sun…

Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love for I have put my trust in you. Show me the way I should go, for to you I lift up my soul. Psalm 143:8 NIV

I was jumping from Scripture to Scripture today just reading these gems of wisdom because I love it. So, when I came across Psalm 143. The Psalm of David. I was tickled.

David was definitely in a reflective mood- and more than likely being chased by someone. I don’t claim to know what inspired every psalm, but I do know that there is something about the morning that is special. And David knew this as well.

And I am NOT a morning person. I am a Night Owl.

But this powerful verse pinched my spiritual elbow because we are supposed to want God like our very next breath. We wait anxiously for a Word from him. For his justice. And for his mercy. We already have His love.

But David says, “I have put my trust in you.”

And I say I don’t want the sun to go down on my anger(Ephesians 4:26), because when it rises again, I want to face the Lord having  fully repented and washed perfectly clean from any sin.

I know.

It can be a hard task to follow. As a wonderful pastor said this past Sunday, David certainly had his faults but he was still after God’s own heart. He loved God and fully repented. Turning away completely from his sin.

But the morning always have good news when we wake up, doesn’t it?

There is this one bird that sings the same, beautiful song every morning near our window(is it the same bird though? I don’t know) and the squirrels are out playing, running around the bushes and under people’s cars.

And there is that new breath, fresh from sleep- opening my eyes again to a BRAND. NEW DAY.

A new day to worship. A new day to work. A new day to meditate. To pray. To have fun.

Partaking in God’s unfailing love.

Copyright 2015 Erica Jean Smith

Leave a Reply

