Evidence to Solidify or Shake My Faith Starts Here…

Christianity Poster

I don’t know about you, but do most children or teenagers think philosophically about a religion before they choose one? Before baptism and acceptance…?

Okay, save for those child prodigies out there.

But seriously, when I was fifteen and stood on that church stage under glowing hot lights with hundreds of other church members, there was only one thing on my mind. Two at the most:

  • I really don’t want to go to hell and,
  • I really do love God(should that have been first)?

See what I mean?

A Play Set My Faith in Order

The play the church put on called “Heaven’s Gates and Hell’s Flames” was so moving with black robed demons dancing around snatching loved ones and flaming yellow and red ribbons everywhere represented fire-while tall, white robed angels stood proud and wore radiant expressions.

I wanted to go to heaven. That was all I knew. And from then on I began the practice of daily bible reading and fellowship along with Sunday church attendance.

Which is all good.

But for those who have not fallen in love with Jesus– those investigating Him to see if He is worth the time, is it wrong to seek the Dead Sea Scrolls for ultimate proof? Is it wrong to hunt down the annals of time to see who else knew Jesus 2500 years prior?

Is it wrong to question the validity of the Bible?

Evidence of Christ

I am reading (and will review later) Lee Strobel’s The Case for Christ and he asks a question:

After finding all the corroborating evidence and archeological proof of Jesus having at least existed somewhere on earth, does it solidify or shake my faith?

Personally, my faith has been waning in the last few years. Intact, but totally weakened by my lack of hope in human beings. The news and personal circumstances can make anyone feel like God is perhaps sitting back and keeping watch- doing nothing more.

But while reading Strobel’s book I feel confident that I have chosen the right religion. I know religion sounds strict but it is used in the Bible.

Reverent Mind of God and the Honest Theologian

Here is an interesting Scripture which is kind of hard to forget…

“For the foolishness of God is wiser than man’s wisdom, and the weakness of God is stronger than man’s strength”- 1 Corinthians 1:25 NIV

What a statement!

All of the philosophies and theology we learn are beautiful jewels if projected in the right direction, however it befuddles me when I wonder if we are even close to explaining how Great God is to have left His son here full of His divinity and power wrapped in baby skin only to mature and build and perform miracles we do not deserve.

So, if you are on your quest like Lee Strobel was, to finding out if this faith is the real thing, I pray you rely on the best resources and scholarship available.

However you come to know Christ, the angels rejoice anyhow because your name will be in the Lamb’s Book of Life.

And if you are like me, already in a relationship with God, then learning more about Him doesn’t hurt- it has solidified my faith in Him. I have chosen the right belief.

Have you?

~Erica

2 thoughts on “Evidence to Solidify or Shake My Faith Starts Here…”

Leave a Reply

